Skip to content

Maybe you’re not a failure..

May 19, 2017

 

We have to make the most of whatever we have left this season. We just have to look forward to BETTERING OURSELVES EACH AND EVERY WEEK” – NRL star Greg Inglis

Torah Parsha (Portion) Behar-Bechukotai in a Nutshell from www.chabad.org

On the mountain of Sinai, G‑d communicates to Moses the laws of the Sabbatical year: every seventh year, all work on the land should cease, and its produce becomes free for the taking for all, man and beast.

Seven Sabbatical cycles are followed by a fiftieth year—the Jubilee year, on which work on the land ceases, all indentured servants are set free, and all ancestral estates in the Holy Land that have been sold revert to their original owners. Additional laws governing the sale of lands, and the prohibitions against fraud and usury, are also given.

G‑d promises that if the people of Israel will keep His commandments, they will enjoy material prosperity and dwell secure in their homeland. But He also delivers a harsh “rebuke,” warning of the exile, persecution and other evils that will befall them if they abandon their covenant with Him. Nevertheless, “Even when they are in the land of their enemies, I will not cast them away; nor will I ever abhor them, to destroy them and to break My covenant with them; for I am the L‑rd their G‑d.” 

The Parshah concludes with the rules on how to calculate the values of different types of pledges made to G‑d.

I did not really plan to do a BLOG this week, but I noticed in the press this week, that NRL star Greg Inglis had checked into a mental health rehabilitation facility suffering from depression. Greg is an amazing player, a brilliant ambassador for the sport and has been an ambassador for the NRL’s State of Mind campaign, which encourages players to speak up about mental health issues and reduce the stigma surrounding mental illness. In an article NRL rugby league star Darius Boyd said that when he was in a similar facility. Lots of players messaged and said they would visit and support, BUT Greg Inglis (GI) did. “GI is a special guy,” Boyd said in 2015. “He came and visited me when I was in the clinic last year and there were only a couple of people that did that and that’s something I’ll never forget and really cherish.” 

In a previous Blog – CLIMBING A SLIPPERY LADDER, I mentioned how I had been battling with my training and post-training recovery. I decided to go to see a sports physician. After numerous tests and a process of elimination, the doctor has said I am suffering from OTS (over training syndrome)/ fatigue. All my blood tests and a coronary artery CT scan indicated that I was very healthy. He Suggested I really take it easy for the next 2 months, exercise only 2-3 times per week (Runs ~ 5km max and cycle ~20km) and take some supplements. Not sure what I am going to do with myself and how I am going to be so disciplined. I will give it all a go, sleep more, do a bit of strength training & stretching and hopefully will be back up and running in July or August to get fit over the summer.

A friend Mark Franks, gave me some words of wisdom “In a way that’s good news. However, I sympathise with where you are at. Might be a good thing to let the body recover and you may come back better than you were.  I bet you’ll feel better within a month of resting. Might have to join a shiur or something! Exercise your spiritual side!  Take it easy! Mark

Picking up Katiia at kinder on Wednesday, I noticed a Quote of the Day at the school that I really think has a very powerful message that puts things in perspective.

“You fall, you rise, you make mistakes, you live and learn. You’re human, not perfect. You’ve been hurt but, you’re alive – to breathe to think, to enjoy, and chase the things you love. Sometimes, there is sadness in our journey but, there is also lots of joy. We must keep putting one foot in front of the other even when we hurt. For we will never know what is waiting for us around the bend” – unknown 

We all put these sports stars on such a pedestal, but forget that they are not always super-human.

So brave! Another example showing how tough sport can be even for those at the top! Respect @greg_inglis “ – Dan Mugford (Rugby Union Player)

I noticed a quote from Maria Sharapova after she did not get a wildcard entry to the French Open[i]If this is what it takes to rise up again, then I am in it all the way, every day. No words, games, or actions will ever stop me from reaching my own dreams. And I have many.”

GI knew he needed help, Maria Sharapova knows what is needed to get back to the top and I identified that a change was needed to once again get back to feeling good after my training. Reading an article by Matt Frazier the No Meat Athlete[ii] titled “Maybe you’re not a failure” he said something that I think ties in very well with what I have written and it reminds people like me that to get back you to take your recovery seriously and ensure you do what has been professionally prescribed to get back to full strength & fitness. “You can’t just flip a switch. Instead, you have to train your mind, one small step at a time. To deliberately focus on what you know will serve you, and to purposely ignore everything else.”

[i] http://www.abc.net.au/news/2017-05-18/sharapova-says-she-will-rise-up-again/8536216

[ii] http://www.nomeatathlete.com/about/

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

